OA funding for EU projects

With Horizon 2020, its programme for research and innovation (duration: 2014-2020, budget: 75 bn EUR), the European Union is one of the biggest research funders in the world. To ensure free access to project results the EU mandates Open Access for peer-reviewed scholarly publications. There is now also an Open Access mandate for underlying research data. You can find short policy summaries here.

↓ OA in Horizon 2020   ↓ OA in FP7 projects   ↓ National helpdesk

Open Access in Horizon 2020

The following conditions apply:

  • Open Access (OA) is mandatory once peer-reviewed scholarly publications result from an EU project (but: no forced publication). Applies to all disciplines and also after the project has been concluded.
  • Free choice: Green OA (self-archiving in repositories) and Gold OA (publishing in Open Access journals) or Hybrid OA, respectively (purchasing OA for articles in subscription journals).
  • For Green OA the following applies: the final, peer-reviewed manuscript has to be made available six months after publication at the latest (12 months after first publication in the humanities and social sciences ). Both subject repositories (e.g. PubMed Central) and/or institutional repositories (e.g. u:scholar) are allowed.
  • For both Gold OA and Hybrid OA the following applies: OA publishing fees are eligible for funding but reimbursement has to be requested during project duration.
  • Research data underlying a publication also have to be made available Open Access in addition to the creation of a data management plan. Substantiated opt-outs from the Open Research Data Pilot are possible at any time..
     

Additional information:

>> Open access & Data Management in H2020
>> H2020 Annotated Model Grant Agreement (PDF) (As of 21.4.2017, s. Art. 29, S. 386)
>> K. Rohsmann: Open Access und Open Data in H2020 (PDF)

Open Access in FP7 projects

All scholarly publications that have resulted from the EU's 7th research framework programme (FP7) are to be made freely available to the public. In order to make Open Access publishing possible for concluded FP7 projects the EU provides additional funding.

Additional information:

>> OA funding for FP7 projects: Post-Grant Open Access Pilot
>> FP7: What/Where/When to deposit?

National helpdesk at the Vienna University Library

The Vienna University Library is the site of the National Open Access Desk Austria (NOAD Austria) that was established as part of the OpenAIRE project. It fields all questions concerning Open Access mandates in EU projects. The EU project series OpenAIRE (currently OpenAIRE2020) facilitates the establishment of Open Access infrastructures for publications and research data in Europe.

Contact:

Mag. Gerda McNeill
T: 01-4277-15117, M: 0664-60277-16980
E: gerda.mcneill@univie.ac.at

Service e-mail: openaireaustria@univie.ac.at

Open-Access-Förderungen bei EU-Projekten

Die Europäische Union (EU) zählt mit Horizon 2020, ihrem Programm für Forschung und Innovation (Laufzeit: 2014-2020, Budget: 75 Mrd. EUR), zu den größten Forschungsförderern weltweit. Um den freien Zugang  zu Projektergebnissen sicherzustellen, verpflichtet die EU ihre Projektnehmer dazu, wissenschaftliche Publikationen mit Peer Review open access zu veröffentlichen. Open-Access-Verpflichtungen gibt es mittlerweile auch für die den Publikationen zugrundeliegenden Forschungsdaten. Details dazu finden Sie hier nachfolgend kurz zusammengefasst.

↓ OA in Horizon 2020   ↓ OA bei FP7 Projekten   ↓ Nationaler Helpdesk

Open Access in Horizon 2020

Es gelten folgende Bedingungen:

  • Es gilt: Verpflichtung zu Open Access (OA) für den Fall, dass aus dem EU-Projekt Publikationen mit Peer Review hervorgehen (aber: kein Zwang zur Publikation). Gilt für alle Disziplinen. Auch nach Projektende.
  • Freie Wahl: Green OA (Self-Archiving in Repositorien) oder Gold OA (Publizieren in Open-Access-Zeitschriften) bzw. auch Hybrid OA ("Freikaufen" von Artikeln in Subskriptionszeitschriften).
  • Bei Green OA gilt: das finale peer-reviewed Manuskript muss spätestens sechs Monate nach der Veröffentlichung frei zugänglich gemacht werden (in den Geistes- u. Sozialwissenschaften spätestens 12 Monate nach der Erstveröffentlichung). Möglich sind Fachrepositorien (z.B. PubMed Central) und/oder institutionelle Repositorien (z.B. u:scholar).
  • Bei Gold OA und Hybrid OA gilt: die OA-Publikationskosten sind förderfähig, die Rückerstattung  muss noch während der Projektlaufzeit beantragt werden.
  • Auch für die einer Publikation zugrundeliegenden Forschungsdaten gibt es eine Verpflichtung zur Open-Access-Veröffentlichung und zur Erstellung eines Datenmanagementplans. Ein begründetes Opt-Out aus dem Open Research Data Pilot ist jederzeit möglich.
     

Weiterführende Informationen:

>> Open access & Data Management in H2020
>> H2020 Annotated Model Grant Agreement (PDF) (Stand: 21.4.2017, s. Art. 29, S. 386)
>> K. Rohsmann: Open Access und Open Data in H2020 (PDF)

Open Access bei FP7-Projekten

Alle wissenschaftlichen Publikationen, die im Rahmen des 7. EU-Forschungsrahmenprogramms (FP7) entstanden sind, sollen der Öffentlichkeit frei zugänglich gemacht werden. Um das Open-Access-Publizieren in bereits abgeschlossenen FP7-Projekten zu ermöglichen, stellt die EU zusätzliche Fördergelder zur Verfügung.

Weiterführende Informationen:

>> OA-Förderung für FP7-Projekte: Post-Grant Open Access Pilot
>> FP7: What/Where/When to deposit?

Nationaler Helpdesk

An der Universitätsbibliothek Wien ist der im Rahmen von OpenAIRE eingerichtete National Open Access Desk Austria (NOAD Austria) für alle Fragen rund um Open-Access-Verpflichtungen in EU-Projekten angesiedelt. Die EU-Projektreihe OpenAIRE (zurzeit OpenAIRE2020) unterstützt den Aufbau von Open-Access-Infrastrukturen für Publikationen und Forschungsdaten in Europa.

Kontakt:

Mag. Gerda McNeill
T: 01-4277-15117, M: 0664-60277-16980
E: gerda.mcneill@univie.ac.at

Service E-Mail: openaireaustria@univie.ac.at