Logo der Universität Wien

Open Access Policy of the University of Vienna

The following Open Access Policy was approved by the Rectorate on June 17th, 2014 on the basis of preliminary work by the Open Access Board:

As a signatory of the Berlin Declaration on Open Access to Knowledge in the Sciences and Humanities, the University of Vienna supports the call for free and unrestricted access to scholarly information on the internet (Open Access). With this aim in view, the University of Vienna, in cooperation with national and international institutions, actively participates in discussions and negotiations relating to the transition to Open Access in academic publishing.

In addition to the systematic collection of research in its research information system (u:cris), the University of Vienna also wants to make research results more visible and accessible on its own electronic publication archive (u:scholar). Therefore, the following guidelines apply:

The guidelines of the University of Vienna:
The University of Vienna expects all researchers employed by it to deposit a complete version of each publication in u:scholar, the university's institutional repository, and to make it freely accessible, provided there are no legal impediments to doing so.
The University of Vienna recommends their researchers to publish their academic work increasingly in Open Access journals, provided that appropriate and suitable peer-reviewed journals are available, especially if they are listed in the Directory of Open Access Journals.
The University of Vienna encourages initiatives that result in journals edited at the University of Vienna being converted to Open Access. In the future, the launch of new journals will only be supported financially if they are published Open Access and have successfully passed an external evaluation.
  
Support measures:
The University of Vienna provides the infrastructure necessary for electronic publishing and archiving to its researchers. It will be continuously developed to ensure the perfect coordination of research documentation*, institutional repository, international databases and subject repositories.
The University of Vienna is committed to assisting its researchers organizationally and financially with publishing in Open Access journals. The University of Vienna allocates no central funds for paying additional fees for articles in subscription journals ("hybrid Open Access") to be made Open Access as long as there are no sustainable solutions to the issue of "double dipping".**
The Open Access Office of the University Library is open to all researchers and provides advice on and assistance with scholarly publishing or editing of Open Access journals. The University Library also offers researchers support with legal issues, particularly concerning the clarification of rights when documents are uploaded to the university's publication archive.


* u:cris is the current research information system used at the University of Vienna and as such serves as the primary upload platform for publications as well. There are plans to archive documents stored in u:cris in Phaidra (or rather in Phaidra's u:scholar collection) via automated processes at a later date to guarantee permanent access. Note that a permanent identifier for your documents is only available in u:scholar at the moment.


** Subscription journals are journals, for which libraries pay subscription or license fees ("Closed Access"). Many publishers offer an "additional fee" option to their authors for single articles to be made Open Access in these journals. Because Closed and Open Access articles are mixed in such journals, these journals are also called "hybrid journals". "Double dipping" refers to the double payment for the same content, i.e., on the one hand, Open Access fees are paid by authors and, on the other hand, subscription fees are paid by libraries.

Contact:
Vienna University Library
Open Access Office
c/o ZB-Physik
Boltzmanng. 5, 1090 Wien
T: 01-4277-27607 (27608)
E-Mail
University of Vienna | Universitätsring 1 | 1010 Vienna | T +43-1-4277-0

Logo der Universität Wien

Open Access Policy der Universität Wien

Folgende Open Access Policy wurde auf Basis der Vorarbeiten des Open Access Board vom Rektorat am 17.6.2014 beschlossen:

Als Unterzeichnerin der Berliner Erklärung über offenen Zugang zu wissenschaftlichem Wissen unterstützt die Universität Wien die Forderung nach freiem und uneingeschränktem Zugang zu wissenschaftlicher Information im Internet (Open Access). In diesem Sinne beteiligt sich die Universität Wien in Kooperation mit nationalen und internationalen Einrichtungen aktiv an Diskussionen und Verhandlungen zur Umstellung des Publikationswesens auf Open Access.

Neben der systematischen Erfassung der Forschungsleistungen in der Forschungsdokumentation (u:cris*) ist die Universität Wien auch bestrebt, Forschungsergebnisse über ihr eigenes elektronisches Publikationsarchiv (u:scholar) besser sichtbar und zugänglich zu machen. Daher gelten folgende Leitlinien:

Die Leitlinien der Universität Wien:
Die Universität Wien erwartet von den bei ihr beschäftigten Forschenden, dass sie von jeder Publikation eine vollständige Fassung in u:scholar, dem universitätseigenen Publikationsarchiv (Institutional Repository), frei zugänglich hinterlegen, sofern dem keine rechtlichen Hindernisse entgegenstehen.
Die Universität Wien empfiehlt ihren Forschenden, ihre wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten in zunehmendem Maße in Open-Access-Zeitschriften zu publizieren, sofern geeignete Journals mit Peer-Review-Verfahren zur Verfügung stehen, insbesondere wenn sie im Directory of Open Access Journals gelistet sind.
Die Universität Wien ermutigt Initiativen zur Umstellung von an der Universität Wien herausgegebenen Zeitschriften auf Open Access. Neugründungen von Zeitschriften können künftig nur finanziell unterstützt werden, sofern diese unter dem Open-Access-Modell publiziert werden und in einer externen Evaluation positiv begutachtet wurden.
  
Unterstützende Maßnahmen:
Die Universität Wien stellt ihren Forschenden die für das elektronische Publizieren und Archivieren erforderliche Infrastruktur zur Verfügung. Diese wird laufend weiter entwickelt, um ein optimales Zusammenwirken von Forschungsdokumentation*, Institutional Repository, internationalen Datenbanken und Fachrepositorien zu gewährleisten.
Die Universität Wien ist bestrebt, ihre Forschenden bei Veröffentlichungen in Open-Access-Zeitschriften organisatorisch und finanziell zu unterstützen. Für das „Freikaufen“ von Artikeln in Subskriptionszeitschriften („Hybrides Open Access“) werden von der Universität Wien keine zentralen Mittel zur Verfügung gestellt, solange es keine nachhaltigen Lösungen für das Problem des „double dipping“ gibt.**
Das Open Access Office der Universitätsbibliothek steht allen Forschenden als Ansprechpartner zum Thema Open Access beratend zur Seite und bietet für das wissenschaftliche Publizieren und die Herausgabe von Open-Access-Journals Hilfe an. Die Universitätsbibliothek unterstützt die Forschenden auch bei Rechtsfragen, insbesondere bei der Rechteabklärung, wenn Dokumente in das universitätseigene Publikationsarchiv hochgeladen werden.

* u:cris ist das zentrale Portal für Forschungsinformationen an der Universität Wien und somit auch primäre Uploadplattform für wissenschaftliche Dokumente wie z.B. Publikationen. Ziel ist es, Dokumente zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt automatisiert nach Phaidra (bzw. in die u:scholar-Collection von Phaidra) zu transferieren, um so eine sichere und dauerhafte Zugänglichkeit und Archivierung zu gewährleisten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass zurzeit nur in u:scholar ein permanenter URL für Ihre Dokumente bereitgestellt werden kann.


** Subskriptionszeitschriften sind Journals, für welche Bibliotheken Abonnement-  bzw. Lizenzgebühren zahlen („Closed Access“). Viele Verlage bieten den AutorInnen die Option an, einzelne Artikel in diesen Zeitschriften "freizukaufen". Da in solchen Zeitschriften Closed- und Open-Access-Artikel gemischt werden, nennt man diese Zeitschriften auch "Hybridjournals". Unter "double dipping" versteht man das doppelte Bezahlen für denselben Inhalt, d.h. einerseits von Open-Access-Gebühren durch AutorInnen und andererseits von Abonnementgebühren durch Bibliotheken.

Kontakt:
Universitätsbibliothek Wien
Open Access Office
c/o ZB-Physik
Boltzmanng. 5, 1090 Wien
T: 01-4277-27607 (27608)
E-Mail
Universität Wien | Universitätsring 1 | 1010 Wien | T +43-1-4277-0