u:scholar - Make research accessible

 

u:scholar is the University of Vienna's institutional repository where University affiliates can upload their journal articles, working papers, monographs, conference papers and other scholarly materials and make them openly available to others. The platform supports both primary and secondary publication. Documents uploaded to u:scholar are technically being stored in Phaidra where they are also being archived. If you want to try out u:scholar, you are welcome to test it using the u:scholar sandbox on Campus.

u:scholar also allows easy compliance with OA requirements of funders such as the FWF. We will gladly assist you if you are not sure whether the upload of certain documents is legally possible or not.

>> u:scholar    >> legal issues
 

Please note the following concerning the relationship between u:cris and u:scholar:

  • u:cris, being the central portal for research information at the University of Vienna, is the primary upload platform for scholarly documents such as publications. The University's Open Access policy however recommends authors also deposit these documents in u:scholar to ensure permanent accessibility and archiving while promoting the best visibility and dissemination possible.
  • Publications in Open Access journals (Gold OA) that are listed in u:cris are automatically uploaded to u:scholar by the Open Access Office as long as there is no legal impediment to doing so. In addition, all publications supported by the OA publishing fund or via OA publishing agreements are also systematically being made available in u:scholar.
     

 

u:scholar features

Fast and easy publication: Publishing your work only takes a few minutes and supports the University's endeavour to store your research output in full.

Permanent URL: Your document is assigned a permanent link to allow easy citation.

Metadata import: If your document already has a DOI metadata such as title, author etc. can be imported without additional input.

Embargo management: Should your publisher only allow secondary publication after a certain embargo date you can still archive your document. Access will only be provided after the date you specified.

Request copy: Should access to your document be restricted interested readers that might have found your contribution on u:scholar can still request a copy. Before providing them with your work we will ask for your consent.

Versioning: You can publish your work in different stages and link the various versions together: You can use this to upload a working paper in a draft version or publish an updated version of a book a second time. To facilitate decision making u:scholar offers a useful filter and explanations of versions during upload.

Formats: You can upload various formats of a single document (e.g. PDF, EPUB, HTML).

Usage statistics: u:scholar indicates how many times your contribution has been viewed or downloaded, respectively.

Indexing in scholarly search engines such as BASE. This happens automatically and makes your contribution easily discoverable on the Internet.

Quality assurance: Your input will be checked by the Open Access Office.

Helpdesk: The Open Access Office supports you with any questions or uncertainties that you might have!

u:scholar - Forschung zugänglich machen

 

u:scholar ist das Institutional Repository der Universität Wien, in dem Universitätsangehörige ihre Zeitschriftenartikel, Working Papers, Monographien, Konferenzbeiträge und andere wissenschaftliche Materialien hochladen und für andere frei zugänglich machen können. Die Publikationsplattform ist für Erst- und Zweitveröffentlichungen geeignet. Dokumente, die in u:scholar hochgeladen werden, befinden sich aus technischer Sicht in Phaidra, wo sie auch archiviert werden. Sie wollen u:scholar ausprobieren? Dann laden wir Sie ein, das System innerhalb des Campus mit u:scholar-sandbox zu testen.

Mit u:scholar können Sie auch leicht die OA-Anforderungen von Forschungsförderern wie dem FWF erfüllen. Gerne unterstützen wir Sie auch bei Unklarheiten, ob ein Upload rechtlich erlaubt ist oder nicht.

>> Zu u:scholar    >> Rechtsfragen
 

Bitte beachten Sie folgende Hinweise zum Verhältnis von u:cris zu u:scholar:

  • u:cris, das zentrale Portal für Forschungsinformation an der Universität Wien, ist primäre Uploadplattform für wissenschaftliche Dokumente wie z.B. Publikationen. Im Sinne der Open-Access-Policy der Universität Wien ist eine Zurverfügungstellung dieser Dokumente seitens der AutorInnen auch in u:scholar erwünscht, um so eine dauerhafte Zugänglichkeit und Archivierung sowie bestmögliche Sichtbarkeit und Verbreitung zu gewährleisten.
  • Für Publikationen in OA-Journals (Gold OA), die in u:cris verzeichnet sind, erfolgt die Zurverfügungstellung in u:scholar ohne Ihr Zutun automatisch durch das Open Access Office, sofern dies rechtlich gestattet ist. Ebenso werden alle im Rahmen des OA-Publikationsfonds bzw. durch OA-Verlagsabkommen geförderten Artikel von uns systematisch in u:scholar zugänglich gemacht.
     

 

u:scholar Features

Einfaches und schnelles Publizieren: Sie können Ihren Beitrag in nur wenigen Minuten publizieren und so die Universität Wien bei der Erfassung ihres Forschungsoutputs im Volltext unterstützen.

Dauerhafte Web-Adresse: Ihr Dokument erhält einen permanenten Link, so dass es eindeutig zitiert werden kann.

Datenimport: Besitzt Ihr Dokument schon einen DOI, so können Metadaten wie Titel, AutorIn etc. ohne erneute Eingabe übernommen werden.

Embargomanagement: Sollte Ihr Verlag die Open-Access-Zweitveröffentlichung erst nach Ablauf einer bestimmten Frist erlauben, können Sie das Dokument dennoch archivieren. Der Zugang wird nach dem von Ihnen angegebenen Datum automatisch frei geschaltet.

Kopie anfordern: Wenn Ihr Dokument einem Embargo oder einer Zugangsbeschränkung unterliegt, können InteressentInnen, die Ihren Beitrag in u:scholar gefunden haben, eine Kopie bei uns anfordern. Vor der Weitergabe an Dritte holen wir Ihr Einverständnis ein.

Versionierung: Sie können Arbeiten in unterschiedlichen Stadien veröffentlichen und die einzelnen Versionen miteinander verknüpfen: So ist ein Working Paper auch im Entwurfszustand hochladbar, während Sie ein Buch auch als aktualisierte Fassung ein weiteres Mal publizieren können. In u:scholar helfen Ihnen während des Uploads ein praktischer Filter sowie genaue Erläuterungen zu Erscheinungsformen und Versionen bei der Entscheidung.

Formate: Sie können mehrere Formate desselben Dokumentes hochladen (z.B. PDF, EPUB, HTML).

Nutzungsstatistiken: In u:scholar sehen Sie, wie oft Ihr Beitrag aufgerufen bzw. heruntergeladen wurde.

Indexierung in wissenschaftlichen Suchmaschinen wie BASE. Dies geschieht automatisch und Ihr Beitrag ist im Internet gut auffindbar.

Qualitätskontrolle: Ihre Eingaben werden durch das Open Access Office funktional und technisch überprüft.

Helpdesk: Bei Unklarheiten oder Fragen steht Ihnen das Open Access Office mit Rat und Tat zur Seite!